Thunder In The Valley

A firework sparks to shatter the crinkled sky,
Gunfire in the valley.

*

A sparkler’s ember in the wet bog lies,
The landmine waits endlessly.

*

Explosions echo in the emptiness of night,
Old homes, evacuated buildings.

*

Faces of amazement, lit up like fireflies,
Heads bloodied with machetes.

*

Dogs barking running from the dancing fire,
Children hiding from murdered mothers.

*

Night’s silence marking the end of the day,
Days ending marking a night of blood thirst.

*

Today’s the day we celebrate,
Tonight we fear for tomorrow.

*

Tonight effigies are burnt and heroes made,
Tomorrow is filled with sorrow.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Thunder In The Valley

  1. gentledove

    I am amazed this has no comments, I have always seen this analogy with fireworks. I am gonna dig over your blog Tom and get back to you, are you Brit then?

  2. Thanks – I’ll try to make sure I keep posting – yes I’m a Brit living in London…interested to read any other UK poem sites if you know of any?

  3. I found your site via Poets Who Blog. I like the stark images in this and the juxtaposition of fireworks and war,

  4. shoestringspirit

    Thanks crafty green I’ll have a pop over to your book shelf as I hadn’t read you before.

  5. tim hoang

    Hey mate, saw this through your site and thought i was gonna have a look and then take piss.

    But instead, genuinely, pleasantly surprised.

Leave a Reply

